Cover Osteuropa 6/2007

In Osteuropa 6/2007

“I Have Been Dead for Ages”
Composers in the Gulag: Vsevolod Zaderatskii and Aleksandr Veprik

Jascha Nemtsov

Deutsche Fassung


There is an extensive international literature about composers persecuted by the Nazi regime. By contrast, musicology has so far ignored composers in the Gulag. The widespread assumption that musicians were not persecuted under Stalin is a myth. Even among composers, there were many victims. Two fates serve as examples: that of Aleksandr Veprik, a protagonist of the national Jewish school in Russia, and that of Vsevolod Zaderatskii, one of the most important representatives of Russian modern music.

(Osteuropa 6/2007, pp. 315–340)